Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Vintage King Mortone

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Dave Burrill, Sep 18, 2003.

1. Dave Burrill

Dave Burrill

Sep 18, 2003
    Hi, Folks.

This is my first post here, and I'd like to ask a few questions concerning my DB.

I purchased this DB around 20 years ago with the intention of backing up some "old-time fiddle" and Bluegrass music. Knowing absolutely nothing about Uprights, I plunked down my $350 for this old, dusty thing at a local music store and proceeded to "teach" myself how to play it. It had old flat-wound steel strings which necessitated my wrapping my right hand fingers with masking tape, but hey, it was cool and the old bugger sounded quite big. After about 2-3 years, I started playing bass for a Christian Praise band using an electric bass, and the old King ended up being a decorator item.

I've since decided to "do something" with it and have (finally) restrung it and have started thinking about possible restoration for it.