Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Visual Basic vs C++

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by canopener, May 9, 2004.

1. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    Ok, programmers, I've got a question. For 3 of my last 15 credits, I have to take an intro (of sorts) computer programming course. I've taken C++ twice before, once failing, and once dropping. I've also taken a course based on GIS software (ArcGIS) that briefly touched Visual Basic.

Sooo, my question is, what is the simpler, easier to understand language?

2. Whoa! I hope you aren't expecting many responses in this forum!
    It just happens that I used to be a programmer.

That being said...VB. Easier to learn and produces more "business" applications.

I've gone rounds with C and C++. If you want to get closer to operating systems, drivers, and have great control over bits and bytes, be my guest.

3. Zon Bass

Zon Bass

Jan 20, 2002
    Dallas, TX
    If you want something easier go vith VB. C++ is great for important things but if you just want to write stupid little programs that you can have some fun with then go with VB.

4. VB is also more programmer friendly when it comes to creating the interface for the program you are creating also. I mean, how hard is it to drag a box and say its a text box? :p

5. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    Yeah, that's what I gathered about VB. The only advantage that C++ holds over VB is that it is offered in the summer.

6. leanne

leanne

May 29, 2002
    Rochester, NY
  7. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy
    Would I then be fluent in two additional languages?
    ;)

8. MattyN

MattyN

May 26, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    VB easier. C++ much more powerful.

what do u want to do after you graduate?

9. canopener

canopener

Sep 15, 2003
    Isle of Lucy