1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Viva Analog 360+ preamp Review

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by adrian mccullou, Jan 19, 2012.

1. adrian mccullou

adrian mccullou

Dec 14, 2009
    I just received my new 360+ built by JC Maillet at Viva Analog. I have been playing his preamp for about 4 years and this is the new updated version with the clean etched finish . I thought that I would share my thoughts on this pedal as I find it a very important tool in my arsenal and I get many people asking me about it. so here goes my little review....

As a working musician who plays the club circuit virtually every weekend and logs plenty of hours in the studio, I can say that this pedal is my main sidekick. Playing stages that are back-lined or having to use another players' rigs can be frustrating, so I always have this Preamp at my feet as it has become my guarantee to my tone every time. Also, if I am playing an acoustic sunday afternoon pub gig with friends, I can use this between my bass and the PA to give me a stronger signal and allow me to do some personal EQing. The 360+ is not noisy at all.

the 360+ gives a lot of tonal options with the Variamp selection. It really goes noticeably from grindy mid-range to a full blown low end and with a little tweak of the bass and treble, I can get exactly what I am looking for. There is a Bright switch which I have rarely used but it does noticeable perform its intended function! I find that some stages/rooms can be boomy with my standard Bassy EQ and with a quick adjustment I can have things dialed in without losing any of the warmth or stage volume.