volume pedal: Your choice

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by steak'n'roll, Jan 5, 2006.

1. I'm looking for a volume pedal and I'd like to know your opinion. I don't need it to be stereo, I'd like to have a tuner output but it is not an obligation. Boss? Ernie Ball? Crap brand?
    Tell me
  2. PhilMan99

Jul 18, 2003
    US, Maryland
    If you're like me, you'll use it (literally) for 10 minutes and say "boy, this was stupid"; then learn to reach-down to your volume control without looking (another 10 minutes).

Having said that, here's some things to look for:
    * Low vs. high impedance (passive & active basses have different requirements)
    * Mechanism: a) pots (which wear-out), b) optical.
    * If pot mechanism a) string, like Ernie Ball or b) direct linkage (like Boss)
  3. I use a EB 6166 Mono Volume Pedal. Works like a charm. I've been using it for two years now, and it will never leave my pedalboard. It's sturdy as a rock and will (most-likely) never fail. It's got a parallel tuner-out as well.

There's things you can't do with the volume-control on the bass, you know!
  4. IcedEarthWOM

Oct 2, 2005
    I got a Dunlop HighGain, which doesn't have a tuner out (I can use my Dime CryBaby for that!). Built like a tank, meant for passive basses.

I acctually got mine for the Cello/Upright w/ Bow sound. You strike a note with the pedal back then rock it fwd for whatever note duration you want. Time rocking the pedal fwd so that the attack is lost. Sounds dark and moody :cool: Unfortunatly my bass doesn't quite have the sustain that I need for that :( . So for now it's now on my guitar board.

BTW if you get it for that effect, put a reverb after the volume. Tried that out the other day and it works better. Also try to get a little treble in you signal before the volume/verb.
  5. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    So what kind of Ernie Ball volume pedal would I want if my bass is active?
  6. Aj*

Jun 14, 2005
    West Yorkshire, UK