Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Walking Bass Question

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by BigLob, Aug 18, 2003.

1. BigLob

BigLob

Aug 13, 2003
    Dallas, Texas
    I've been playing the SB for about 4 years, but only in school orchestra, and only the classical music they give us. I've had little experiance with bassing aside from occsional glances at this site, and recently when I decided to try out for my high school jazz band. The audition music is the key of Bb Major, fairly easy, but it has a section for walking bass with only note markings like D7, G7, ect. I know what notes these mean, but im pretty much clueless on how to make a walking bass line. I can use any and all help you guys got on how to do this.

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    BIGBLOB,

Welcome to TB! You should find a lot of good beginning walking bass info here:

http://www.talkbass.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=88294

Check out some of the DB theory links, and report back when you have further questions.

Edit: edited for spelling. Typing with one hand while holding a squirming 9-month-old is not as easy as I thought it would be...

3. BigLob

BigLob

Aug 13, 2003
    Dallas, Texas
    Thanks for the links, i feel like i understand it a whole lot better. However, I'm still in the dark on how to write a walking bass line.

4. Sam Sherry

Sam Sherry Inadvertent Microtonalist Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2001
    Portland, ME
    Euphonic Audio "Player"

The threads here -- and Chris' outstanding work compiling and maintaining the Newbie Links -- are not a substitute for a teacher and a band. The bass teacher helps you not to reinvent the wheel each time you practice. The band helps you to reinvent the wheel, from scratch, each time you play.