walking repeats

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Aor82, May 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Aor82

Aor82

Apr 15, 2017
    Hi,
    I'm pretty new to the Jazz and walking thing.
    In the Jazz style, in a given standard, one should create a different walking line for each cycle of A or B section? Or is it possible to play the same walking line for each section of A or B during the piece?

Thanks

2. sean_on_bass

sean_on_bass Supporting Member

Dec 29, 2005
    USA
    Usually, a different walking line for each cycle. In fact, you may never play it the same way twice.

But don't my word for it. Consult your favorite jazz recordings and take note of what happens. Jazz is best learned through audible example, with text as a supplement.

3. Common thinking says play it the first time in a standard way that doesn't challenge the listener, and forecasts the chord structure. On subsequent passes you get to delve a little deeper. Experiment with different registers, inversions, pedals, altered notes, etc.

It shouldn't be the same way every time.

jthisdell and Aor82 like this.
  4. Aor82

Aor82

Apr 15, 2017
    Thanks.

I'm asking it for the walking bass composing sake.
    if I play a spontaneous walking, of course, it will never be the same.

5. Walking lines generally are improvised, not composed.

JRA likes this.
  6. The way I see it, and teach it, there are 3 ways to walk: chromatically, like a scale, like a chord (arpeggio). Also combinations of those 3.
    For most movement you can choose to move up or down to the next chord.
    This gives you 6 different choices for a walking line, already.

The rest is math: "I'm on a D. I need to get to a G. I have four beats to do it."

It is also imperative to read a full measure ahead. If you don't know the next root till beat 4, it is too late to design your walk.

Wallower, MalcolmAmos and RickyT like this.
  7. Adam Booker

Adam Booker

May 3, 2007
    Boone, NC