Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Walking Solo: How To Make It Really Stand Out

Discussion in 'Music Theory [DB]' started by kwelch28, Apr 14, 2004.

1. kwelch28

kwelch28

Aug 31, 2000
    Allegany, NY
    I have to do a walking type solo over rythm changes, but i'm walking the rest of the song and when it comes time to do a solo I want it to stand out. I'm fairly new to this jazz thing, whch is very addictive, and I can use all the help I can get on creating lines and solos. Thanks in advance for any help.

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Make it swing, play in tune, and get a huge sound (which comes, in part, from playing in tune).

No flippancy, just the facts.

3. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    Oh --

And don't try to play anything 'hip'. The result will invariably be anything but. Just play an honest line that you hear.

4. Nuno A.

Nuno A. Velvet Strings Customer Service

Jul 9, 2001
    SWITZERLAND
    Listen to some early Nat King Cole Trio recordings, that should give you some ideas,almost all bass solos are "walking" solos, or some George Duvivier when he played with Benny Goodman, some nice walking solos too...and like Ray said, make it Swing with a big sound, i guess thats what they are expecting from you to do. I once had the same problem when playing with a piano trio, i wanted to do something hip and fancy, and i was just overplaying , didnt sound right at all,i start keeping it simple and swingin' and things really worked out fine...i have to tell you , i really like those walking solos, and they are a good test for your
    "overplaying ,showing up" attitude, they really helped me out understanding my role as a soloist, more is not always better...

Nuno