Walter Woods Ultra Question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Big String, Feb 2, 2005.

1. I would like to know the best way to run just the WWU pre amp section into my CA9. For this reason I would be able to run different configurations of cabs. Right now I am restricted to running a minimum 4ohm load which in most cases is plenty.

I do know that when running just the preamp section of this fine amplifier that the MASTER or MASTERS must be off completely so there is no load on the power section. Now, do I simply run the signal from the line-out 1/4" jack to the input of the CA9 and select the Pre on the toggle swtich, or would I be better off running the signal out of the 'send' on the loop (which I'm currently using for my rack tuner).

Also, the 'send to mix' knob aka the 'magic knob', does this affect the line-out or just the loop for it's intended purpose.

I'm still learning what this little amp can do so sorry for what I should probably already know...

As far as my JDI (DI) that I'm currently running from the line-out.. I can easily change that to the front of the signal and plug the bass right into it.
  2. I got a voicemail back from Mr. Woods.

There are two correct ways to run the WWU to a slave amp.

A. Run out of the 'send' to the slave amp input.
    B. Run out of the 'direct-out' to the slave amp input. Make sure the 'pre' is selected on the toggle.

NOTE: Just to be safe make sure the Gains on the Slave amp are OFF until everything is connected.

As I stated and WW verified, the Masters (Post Gain) MUST be off when no speaker is connected to the WWU, or damage can occur.

Rack Tuner:
    A. Get the signal from the direct-out, with the 'pre' selected on the toggle.
    B. Get signal from send.
    C. Use "Y-cord" from Bass to both inputs of WWU. Second Channel send to tuner.

This means I will have to run my DI from the very front of the signal which is no big deal.