"Waltz For Debby"

Discussion in 'Recordings [DB]' started by Bassman_Spike, Apr 2, 2004.

1. Hi
    Im an electic bassist needing some help from my double bass counterparts, i posted this in the Electric Bass section also hoping for a repsonse to clear up my problem

Im going to be doing this piece for my end of year as exam because i dont have a Jazz piece yet. I know it was done on double bass but it is in the electric bass silibus of songs.

The title of the music i have says "Scott LaFaro's Solo On "Waltz For Debby" (from Bill Evans' LP "The Village Vanguard Sessions")

I have a recording of waltz for debby but the bassline doesnt seem to match with what the music is notated as. I also did a search for both Waltz For Debby and Scott LaFaro on TB and found someone saying that "The Village Vanguard Sessions" is a live album, the recording i have is studio done.

So is this a live version of the song?
    Does anyone have this version of the song?
    and if you do
    Have you heard other recordings and are they much different?

So tell me if im going bonkers on this, but it really is a different bassline, unless im listening for the wrong spot.

And i can post a sample of the music i have to if that might help.

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

The Village Vanguard sessions are famously live and had more than one version of that tune - but hey this is Jazz and there is no reason why a bassline should ever be the same twice!

EDIT - I just noticed you said Scott La Faro's solo - so especially a solo in Jazz is very unlikely to be exactly the same twice and I would be very surprised if it was!

So - a Jazz solo is all about improvising and even on a studio date, it would never be the same as one recorded at another time.

And with live Jazz - that's the real beauty of it - that the same tune never need sound the same twice! ;)