Wanking in public, by request. (in church)

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Nev375, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Nev375

Nev375

Nov 2, 2010
    Missouri
    I confess, I'm a bass wanker. But in my defense, I usually do my fancy licks behind closed doors in the privacy of my own practicing... you know, when the usual scales and arpeggios get boring and then you have a moment of passion and the fingers just start flying.

Well, recently at an open jam, things were getting kinda quiet between acts and I just started playing a few seconds of bass solo indulgence which caught the attention of a songwriter/guitarist friend of mine who thought it was just awesome. I admit it kinda felt good to be recognized by a fellow musician, especially one who I believe kinda secretly thought bassists were semi-******** wannabe guitarists who just hold down the root. I thought that would be the end of it. Oh how wrong I was.

Fast forward to yesterday morning the same guy had invited me to sit in and wing a few songs with him at his church praise worship thing. I get there and set up then he starts inviting a few people over and says "Do that thing you do, ..you know that thing... with the fingers tapping on the neck deal and the thumb slap... you know that thing..."

Reluctantly, feeling cornered, I oblige and lay into the beginning of my little bass solo masterpiece. Oh sure the audience was very complimentary, although some looked a bit confused not having heard such strange noises from what I'm sure they thought was a standard issue electric guitar. But I felt used, and dirty and ashamed in my sin.

Am I alone or have some of you experienced something similar?

---------
    edit, just realized this is a better thread for humor and bass stories. My bad. Mods please relocate. I'll try to be more accurate next time.

2. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration

Aug 17, 2007
    Reno/Tahoe
    Never corner a wolverine.