1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Want a bigger practice amp. How about a Crate BX-40?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by EamusCatuli, Mar 18, 2009.

1. EamusCatuli

EamusCatuli

Mar 18, 2009
    Chicago
    I've been playing bass for a whole 3 months now. (I guess you have to start somewhere.)

My wife got me a cheap bundled package with a knockoff guitar ("Crescent") and a "Fever" 20W amp. Anything past about 40% on the amp distorts. I found a BX-40 on Craig's that I think I can get for around $140 -- it's 12 years old and the guy bought it when he was in 8th grade.

Anyone know anything about this amp? Being that I'm so green to this, any pitfalls I should be aware of in buying an amp that's 12 years old and played by someone of the same age? Anything I should ask besides how it was treated? I'm far from playing with anyone else -- just taking lessons and noodling at this point. But down the road I'd like to play with someone. I'm assuming 40W is enough -- any thoughts there?

Thanks folks.

2. Grizzly700

Grizzly700

Mar 18, 2008
    Maryville, TN
    If you are interested in playing in anything other than a cofee shop band then you will definetly need more than 40 watts. I personally wouldn't get the Crate just because they aren't so hot with their bass amps. You should go for Ampeg, Gallien Krueger, or something along those lines.

3. Practice amp 10 to 80 watt
    Drummer and one guitarist 100 watt to 200
    Drummer two guitars 350 to infinity

4. Dogbertday

Dogbertday Commercial User

Jul 10, 2007
    SE Wisconsin
    Blaine Music LLC