1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Want a modern, aggressive sound.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by oniman7, Jan 8, 2012.

1. I have been chasing a very aggressive sound for a couple of months now. I have an Ibanez BTB and an active Jay Turser bass. My amp is a GK 400 RB through an MBE410. I will be switching to D'addario Pro Steels next time I change strings, and I think that side of my gear is good enough to at least get very close to the tone I want, even if it's not perfect. I will at some point be upgrading to a more powerful head/ cab, as well as hopefully getting an SR506 and some sort of EBMM with dual humbuckers.

All that said, I'm starting to wonder if some of the tone I want won't come from a pedal. Below I will link to a couple tones I like. Could somebody give me some ideas on what might get me closer to the sound?

Seven - Holographic Human Element - YouTube

Breaking Benjamin - So Cold - YouTube

Killswitch Engage - The End Of Heartache - YouTube

Avenged Sevenfold - Save Me - YouTube

Symphony X - Domination - YouTube

Disturbed - Indestructible [Official Music Video] - YouTube

As you can see, there's sort of a similar sound. The bass is present without being boomy, and it's pretty growly without being too trebly (in most cases). It sounds to me like it's pretty sterile, and I've always found I like solid state better than tube sounds. On the topic of amps, I've found I love a lot of sounds some guys are getting out of an SVT and 8X10, and I love the Markbass sound. But that's off topic.