Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

want an amp for under 400 bucks

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by brothertupelo, Aug 8, 2005.

1. brothertupelo

brothertupelo Guest

Aug 7, 2005
    hi, i'm new here. hope this is the right place for this.
    i have been playing for a few years, but just got into a band this summer.
    my current amp just doesn't cut it when i'm playing with a band. i have to crank it all the way up just to her myself.
    i don't want to spent more than 350-400 dollars, but i need a decent amount of volume and hopefully decent clean and growly tones as well.
    i may buy a used one if i find a bargain, but i don't really know what i should be looking for.

2. xshawnxearthx

xshawnxearthx

Aug 23, 2004
    new jersey
    used svt 3 pro.

if you can find one and tweak it just right, it can get pretty loud.

tweak it the wrong way.....and you get no headroom.

3. brothertupelo

brothertupelo Guest

Aug 7, 2005
    thanks. i have no idea what headroom is, though.

4. brothernewt

brothernewt Some people call me the stormtrooper of love...

Apr 13, 2004
    Happyrock, OR
    I've had problems with the volume of an SVT-3... 'course that was a horribly loud band. I sent a pmsg about an SM-400 I'd like to sell.. much louder and cuts through better. Even if you don't like mine... they can be had for less than $400 regularly and sound way better than their newer solid state preamp models.

5. hihi.

you definitly shoudl check out the amps FAQ sticked at the top of the forum - lots of discussions on impediance, watts vs. decibels and headroom, etc. these are the kinda terms worth having a basic knowledge about when buying an amp (impedance vs. watts is a no brainer, you NEED to know this but headroom and EQing will definitely asist you).

as far as recomendations go id says: