Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Want opinions/advice on my bass design

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Tbirdbassist, Jul 31, 2005.

1. This is a design Ive been working on alot for the past 6 or 7 months, And this is the best out of all the smaller and larger scale ones Ive done (each box = 1 in)I do plan to have this built by any willing luthier when the funds for it are reached. :D

(Click)
    [​IMG]

The woods are, for the top of the body in order of the picture:

Spalted Maple
    Ebony
    Spalted Maple

The fretboard would be ebony, but possibly wenge(i'll get to this later) And the neck would be maple(not sure which type yet).

The headstock would match the bodies top woods. As for the back of the body, Im not sure if I want it all maple, So that its one peice with the neck, Or maybe mohagony or another wood.

Heres where things get a little tricky, Id say. I want this bass to have deep, growly lows(Thunderbird-ish) And yet still have lots of treble, I dont want this to be a mud-bass. Im dont want to change the top woods, But can you give me advice on what woods will give me the sound Im looking for?

Now heres the other thing, I want the bass to be half fretted, Half fretless. I would want it to go fretted up to the 15th fret and then be fretless to the end of the board. So would an ebony board be good for this, Or would it be better off as wenge?

The electronics for it, Ive come down to:

2 Bartolini EMG 40 sized pups(drawn in the picture)
    With the Bartolini 2 or 3 band EQ

OR

One Bartolini 4 coil MM pickup with either the 2 or 3 band EQ.
    (Also drwan in the picture, but lightly)

I like the look of the two pups better than the one MM but, I will compestate if it is a must. Any advice you guys have would be greatly appreciated, And I want opinions, Positive and negative.

(sorry for the long post ;) )