1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Want to be a weekend warrior.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Beefpatrol, Aug 26, 2012.

1. Beefpatrol

Beefpatrol

Dec 18, 2011
    I am a relatively new bassist. (Been playing about a year.). I played trumpet in various school bands from 3rd grade all the way through high school. I played guitar a little bit in high school. In the school bands, I learned to read music and became somewhat competent at sight reading treble clef, playing with others, etc., but I didn't really learn much music theory.

After my life stabilized with a job and a family, I decided that I wanted to get back into music and that I wanted to do it my way this time -- I wanted to learn theory and try to understand and play music based on theory instead of just reading/memorizing stuff. (I hate memorizing stuff and I wanted to be able to be creative in a non-random fashion.) I chose bass because... I just liked the sound I guess. Also, I wanted to be more involved with rhythm than I was when playing the trumpet.

Anyway, I have learned some theory and have been having fun jamming to stuff on YouTube, (amazing how a little theory and a few 10s of hours of practice can make you able to just make stuff up that sounds halfway decent.) I am getting to the point where I feel like I could and should actually play bass in a band.

A side note: I used to drink, but I don't anymore and I don't really want to be tempted to start again. I understand that this can be a problem for musicians in bands.