Want to buy a new bass...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Spikeh, Apr 4, 2005.

1. Spikeh

Spikeh Sex Strings

Hi all - I've spent the last few days reading through the FAQs and forums - some very informed people here with strong opinions! There's obviously a lot of experience and knowledge around here, so I'm hoping I'll get a better idea of what I should do here...

Anyway... on to my dilemia. I'm kinda new to bass playing - been playing for about 2 years, and I'm starting to get fed up with the limitation of my current bass. I have very large hands - one of the reasons for me taking up the bass was that I couldn't get my fingers on a guitar string without touching an adjacent one, not to mention the fact that I've always tuned into basslines in all the music I listen to and I just love the use of funky bass in songs.

I'm mainly inspired by RHCP, RATM, Incubus and Victor Wooten and want to really get into slap bass. I can slap a little on my current set up (4 string Westfield P-Bass with 20W Peavey Amp), but I just don't seem to get the sound I want out of it - the G and D strings are hardly audible even at full gain.

I've been trying some new basses this weekend - picked up a Fender Jazz Bass, an Ibanez (possibly an SR model) and a Yamaha (an Active / Passive BB model). Now, the Fender was the first I tried, and it felt sooooooo nice... didn't like the Ibanez at all, although the action was set far too low and I was getting a lot of fret noise so I didn't really give it the time of day. I loved the different tones I could get out of the Yamaha, but it didn't feel as near as nice as the Fender to hold and play... the Yamaha looked the sexiest of them all :)

Tried slapping on both the Yamaha and Fender, they both sounded great - although I would have to say the Fender felt nicer to slap / play all round. The Yamaha's active features made the sound a little crisper and louder, but for the time being I'm not really after gain until I start gigging.