Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Want to discuss the Brice 6 string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by reachjkh, Jun 13, 2003.

1. reachjkh

reachjkh

Nov 21, 2002
    Lee's Summit, MO
    I have waded through 24 pages of the Essex megathread and I give up. I'm starting my own thread.

I'm thinking about getting a Brice 6 string fretless. If you have a Brice 6, fretted or fretless, please tell me what you think about them. Did you buy a case from them too? How's the quality on those.

Is there ANY other company making an inexpensive 6 string fretted or fretless out there? I've seen a few cort curbows, but I'm not sure I like the style.

Pics of your Brice would be nice too.

thanks,
    Jeff

2. My Brice 6 (fretted) just came yesterday. My first 6 string, I've been playing a Squire 4-string for 5 years (eww).

Overall I'm pretty happy. The B is kinda muddy, but the rest of the strings sound fine. It's my first dive into active electronics, so I'm still trying to find the perfect sound (this can be chalked up to the new strings though...I hate new strings).
    Fretwork is good. Action was set a tad low. The neck is shimmed, I might fix that (what's the point of shimming anyway?). The neck is slightly bowed, so I have quite a bit of fret buzz (of course, bad technique is responsible for some of this too). I want to fix the truss rod, but I can't find the damn screwdriver :mad:

For the price it was great though (of course, Customs Canada spanked me for $106.80 in import fees).

Whee, first post, back to lurking :D

(oh yeah, I got the blue quilted one. Mmmm, very, very sexy)

3. Planet Boulder

Planet Boulder Hey, this is a private residence...man Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2001
    6,482 feet above sea level
    I once had impure thoughts. Oh, and I pluck my ear hair.