Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Want to kill the instructor now

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by madskillz, Feb 12, 2003.

1. madskillz

madskillz

Sep 20, 2002
    I joined an ensemble at a local music school. The music we play is basically soul tunes. I have been playing bass for about 2 years, so I am still very much a plebe. The instructor tells us that the school is having a concert of all the groups and we are going to do Aretha Franklin's version of Respect. I damn near died. If you have heard that bass part it is so kewl, but it is not something a newbie should do on a stage in front of other musicians. But I love the song and decided it was one of those times for a gut check. I worked on this song for 3 weeks straight. Understand, I have a job where I sometimes do 13 hours, so this was a huge investment in time. I finally got it, played the record for some friends, and they agreed I had it down. I was so proud. Four days before we were supposed to do the concert, the instructor decided that he wanted us to do Midnight Hour instead!!!! I could not believe it. We had not practiced it. He said we would not have problem. Well needless to say , we did not sound that great.

But here is the part that makes me want to smoke him. Another group got on after us and did Respect. Guess who the bass player was? THE INSTRUCTOR FROM MY GROUP!!!! Classless Jerk. The only thing that came out this on the positive side is now I know I can learn songs and I can play one of my all-time favorites note-for-note. Just venting. Thanx

2. LM Bass

LM Bass

Jul 19, 2002
    Vancouver, BC
    Hey Madskilz,

Good for you for learning that part. That rocks! Have you seen the movie "Standing in the Shadows of Motown". I bet you'd love it!