Wanted: Upright Bass Luthier in Knoxville, Tn

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by theaterbass29, Feb 13, 2004.

1. theaterbass29

Nov 14, 2003
    Nashville, Tennesse
    Endorsing Artist: Aguilar Amplification, Sadowsky, D.Markley, Spector
    Anyone in Ktown Tennessee area, or other for that matter, know of a qualified or experienced double bass luthier? I cant seem to find anyone to fit the bill, but I have some issues with my upright and I need somebody good! Thanks.
  2. pkr2

Apr 28, 2000
    coastal N.C.
    You are more likely to get a good answer on the DB forum. There are some luthiers there that may be able to help you.

Harrell S.
  3. Tim Cole

Tim Cole

Jun 12, 2002
    Findlay, Ohio
    Agreed, and moved.
  4. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I grew up in Knoxville and lived there until I graduated from UT.

I don't know of an individual, but I would call Ciderville Music. They are on Clinton Highway just out of Powell going toward Clinton. I don't know if they do the work, but they are the place for the bluegrassers, so I'd guess they could point you in a good direction.

You could also call the KSO. I suspect they have cause to use such services. :)
  5. i would not recomend ciderville. look up steve benne, principle of the KSO or rusty holloway , bass prof. at UT. ask them when the next time that harry reaves will be in town. he is a traveling man that based out of arkansas in his retirement. does a very good job and has the best reputaion...
  6. I highly recommend David Harvey in Nashville--may be a 3.5 hour drive but it is worth it. He was with Fred Carpenter at The Violin Shop but has recently gone to work with Gibson--I think at the Gibson Showcase. Contact them and they should be able to connect you with Dave.

7. John Sprague

John Sprague Sam Shen's US Distributor

Mar 10, 2003
    Rochester, NY
    Sales Manager, CSC Products Inc.
    In Knoxville: