1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Wanting to begin bass need advice

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Zeru, Oct 24, 2010.

1. Zeru

Zeru

Oct 24, 2010
    Hey guys, I'm wanting to pick up a musical instrument, and have decided on a bass; the reason why I'm here :p, well; I guess it was after watching all those bassists on youtube and felt amazed.

Now, the problem is that I am a complete newbie at musical instruments and this would be my first ever instrument (No prior music knowledge, reading notes, etc).
    So I am quite lost as of where and how to start learning.

Could I get some advice please? :)

Thanks!

2. SnakeKappele

SnakeKappele

Sep 20, 2010
    Welcome! I played the drums for 30 years and always wanted to play the bass. My brother bought me a bass and I loved it.

I found that I followed the same steps in learning the bass as I did with the drums (unintentionally). I started learning the fingerboard, notes, scales, etc... I got some DVDs and books and had fun practicing. At some point I wanted more and started playing along to music and videos on my computer. I would look up the tabs (if I could find them) and play along until I got it right. My dad got me a Tascam Bass Trainer for Christmas and that was the greatest gift ever! I loaded it up with songs and set the trainer to remove the original bass and played along with my favorite music.

For me the key is: have fun!:)

3. many people will jump right out and say get a teacher, esp if you have no OTHER music instrument knowledge. I recommend this at least for a couple of lessons. Music reading ability is a big plus, but you can learn rather quickly simply by practicing.

whether its reading music, tablature, jamming to a cd, just noodling around....
    the most important thing is to actually be PLAYING your instrument.

can't get good by not playing

4. Zeru

Zeru