Wariwicks' Rockbass range...is it worth its salt in a professional/gigging capacity?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by (hed)-less, Oct 5, 2004.

What do you think of Warwick Rockbass?

Poll closed Oct 12, 2004.
  1. Rockbass? love em :D!

22 vote(s)
  2. Nah...hey suck...get a proper Warwick ;)!

38 vote(s)
  1. hey there, im a bassist on a budget..but despite this im after a really good pro quality bass. my band is getting more serious and i feel it justifys me getting something better for myself. in a previous thread i seeked advice on the yamaha rbx vs the ibanez btb [5 string versions respectively]

additionally im considering a warwick rockbass vampyre to further narrow down what i should try out and such. the vampyre appeals to me as (being in a metal band) it has the cool looks/appearance that rival any bc rich or esp..but further more its built by warwick..so..this cant be a bad thing then right?

what im trying to figure out is: Is a rockbass model warwick more best suited to the "bedroom enthusiast" similar to a kid getting their favourite players' signiture model...OR are they serious contenders for bass players and are worth having/gigging with? i still cant understand what difference there is between a rockbass and a high end warwick (as there is no way i can afford a high end warwick version of the vampyre).

i gather the woods/build quality differ but other than that if i buy a warwick ROCKBASS vampyre will i regret it and be left with warwicks equivlant to the fender squire range and sounds like crap?

in any case id be most interested to hear your thaughts/feelings and feed back both towards the vampyre itself and the rockbass range..cheers and thanks alot for helpin me out in advance..nice one :p
  2. chengann

Apr 22, 2003
    hi there:

i tried out the btb recently. really nice "modern" finishing.
    but the pickup was too weak for my taste. strings sounded
    rather floppy too. hey, but it looks good on stage!