1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Warm EQ Or Pre Amp

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Michael Jewels, Sep 28, 2017.

1. Hello, all.

I was wondering which Pre amp or EQ would add a nice warm tone to a bass.

I just started playing my Epiphone Jack Casady bass again, and also have a Fender T-Bucket bass, and love the warm, round sound of hollow-body and acoustic basses. As warm as these two basses sound, I'd like an even warmer, more open sound if that's possible. Amp suggestions would be welcome as well. I'm currently playing through a Fender Rumble 40.

I've read a few things about the Empress Para EQ.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks.

Mike

2. Matt Dean

Matt Dean Supporting Member

Jan 2, 2007
    SF (North) Bay Area
    The Southampton Ictineo will get you there.

blindrabbit and gregmon79 like this.
  3. Bass Growler

Bass Growler

Jul 10, 2015
    Holland
    I like my new MXR bass preamp. Super clean and a great DI as well.

4. Andysoundbass

Andysoundbass

Sep 7, 2017
    Just got my DHA vt1 bass eq/drive/di from the parcel depo!
    I love it!!
    It uses a 12ax7 tube and has eq. Able to dial in warm, very warm, hot and filthy!! I am mostly going for warm n toasty!
    Made in the uk by Dave Hall who is a member on this forum.
    £170 brand new (I chose a plain orange finish), handmade and very lovely.
    Amazing difference when used before valve amp or solid state.
    My valve amp is actually a 1950s radio so can't really compare with an ampeg or whatever!!

Last edited: Sep 30, 2017
    knumbskull likes this.
  5. Andysoundbass

Andysoundbass

Sep 7, 2017
    From the link "The Ictineo is Southampton's remake of a classic and near impossible to find bass preamp and tone shaping tool." - what preamp are they referring to?

6. Andysoundbass

Andysoundbass

Sep 7, 2017