Warm organic solid state ?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by doublestop, Oct 9, 2005.

1. Hello, I've been playing guitar for many many years, bass for only 1 year. So, sorry for this 'noob' question....

I have a vintage Fender Bassman-type all tube basshead. I love its warm organic sound of tubes. The bloom, that juicy sound, with just enough 'precision' and definition.

My amp is a 2xEL34 amp (say 40 Watts), so I need something more powerfull for rehearsals and gigs.

I have only played some solid state amps in stores, but still I don't have a good impression.

I don't like the Trace Elliot that is in our rehearsal room. I did like (very much) the sound of Gary Willis Aguilar amp, which is tight (much tighter than my bassman) but still very warm and bass-like (duh)

My questions are:

* is it possible to have a warm organic sound out of a solid state amp? If not, I will look after a bigger all tube head (but I'd prefer SS for weight reasons)

* is it necessay to have a tube pre-amp in order to get "that" sound

* what "warm" SS (or Class D) amps would you recommend?

Sorry for asking such dumb questions........thanks for all answers!

2. Mr_Dave

Mar 11, 2005
    Melbourne, Australia
    Employee - Basscentre Melbourne
    although i have never played one, people rave about the thunderfunk.

there is heaps of info on here about them if you use the search

tommix did a nice comparison of the thunderfunk and the db750 which was very favourable.

many people love them, some don't so much but people often say that they are one of the most tubey sounding little heads.

also, not sure if www.basstasters.com is back up but they have clips of the thunderfunk. it's interesting comparing it to the aguilar clips. and check out the clips of the thunderfunk with the "timbre" control turned down. amazing!

cheers. hope this is on the right track for you.
  3. Woodboy

Jun 9, 2003
    St. Louis, MO