Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Warmoth 5 String Fretless

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BFunk, Aug 6, 2002.

1. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

This is the Warmoth 5 string I am putting together. This is my first time doing this, so I would really appreciate it if someone looked over the parts and labor list I put together. Have I missed something? Did over/under estimate anything? What questions should I be asking Warmoth? (I hear that once the order is placed, they don't like to make changes.)

Also, where can I get a good book on guitar wiring and finishing?

2. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

3. hujo

hujo

Apr 18, 2001
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Why don't you want them to drill the neck screw holes?

4. Looks good to me. I'm building one of my own design. your parts list looks pretty complete.

As for books on wiring, I got the new StewMan catalog yesterday, and right on the cover were books for wiring. They have books for every job an instrument builder can think of. I'd start there for the books.

Take pics of your progress, so we can all see your project from start to finish. :D

5. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    If you have a good local shop, haven't got experience assembling basses, and really want it to turn out good, I would recommend having the local shop assemble the bass from the parts you supply. That is if they will and you're comfortable with that. I did that with the green custom jazz bass in my avatar and it turned out fantastic. I've assembled basses from parts, and I wouldn't do it with high quality parts if you don't really know what you're doing. I'd do a low end "spare" bass myself any day, but not a bass that I want to be really nice.

6. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member