Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Warmoth vs. Custom

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ChaosGwar, Apr 3, 2002.

1. Pretty soon I plan on shelling out around $1000 for a new custom. I've been planning one have Dave Pushic build me one. We've already narrowed everything down, and just waiting for the final go ahead and the down payment.

I've also been thinking of spending about the same amount (or less) at Warmoth (or Stewmac), and building the bass myself.

I've got some experience, but not much.
    My fretless 4 was put together by me from parts I accumulated.

I've got access to a good woodworking shop, and have wood working experience.

My dilemma is this: I know if I have Dave Pushic build me a bass, my money will be well spent and i will have a high quality bass. I don't mind the wait either. On the other hand, I'd like to be a part time luthier and this would be great experience. But, the possibility of screwing it up big time poses a credible threat.

2. so what do you want to do man, build basses or play them? how about both?
    if you can only do one, I say play 'em.
    think about what you want, if you plan on building a bass, you're probably gonna go with a bolt on neck. is that what you want to be playing on? not that there's anything wrong with bolt on, but Dave Pushic is going to build you a neck through, is that what you want to be playing on?
    if you can afford to do both, by all means man go for it. but, if you can only afford one or the other....get the custom. :)

3. It depends on what kind of bass you want. If you build a Warmoth you don't have a whole lot of choices. You can build a J style bass, a P style bass or one of their Gecko basses. The Gecko is more of a boutique style bass.

Of course you can do a lot of customizing around those basic designs.