Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Warning!! bad strings for concerts

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by kontri, Nov 17, 2002.

1. kontri

kontri Guest

Oct 5, 2002
    Denmark
    When I started playing with solo strings I used Corelli because it was the only set of solo strings I had. They had been given to me, I couldn't afford a new set. Corelli strings are very dangerous, they are very thin and give a very bright sound. The player thinks it works well and from the players seat they do sound well. In the concert hall they don't sound at all. The sound is so small that the player simply looks like a very shy person who is afraid of playing. I also had problems with intonation when using these strings, if your tone isn't working the intonation will probably be bad so this is my warning to you. Don't use Corelli solo strings!

They might be ok for recording...haven't tryed that.

2. sean p

sean p

Mar 7, 2002
    eugene, oregon
    i think gary karr uses corellis. i think gary karr plays some concerts. i think he probably has a good idea how they sound out in the hall. i think there's more to corellis than being a bad 'concert' string.

but i've never tried them.

sean p

3. kontri

kontri Guest

Oct 5, 2002
    Denmark
    Well I don't know anything about Gary Karr's strings. But I know he playes alot out of tune and I can't really listen to his recordings (have two G.K. recordings). But the man has done alot for the bass and the society of bassists so I like the guy for all he's done.

But I'm surprised if this is true, are you sure that he uses corelli? How do you know or where did you learn it from?