Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

WARNING TO ALL NEWBIES!!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by flea claypool, Aug 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. flea claypool

flea claypool

Jun 27, 2004
    Ireland
    K first lets get one thing straight
    ive been playing a year and a month......SO YES IM A NEWBIE!
    But.....
    Please some expeirenced players back me up...
    i have found there are a few rules to follow when taking up bass..

1.Listen to what you like.
    many a time **** heads have told me dont listen to wooten listen to blink tool and korn... BE FREE TO CHOOSE

2.Play what you like.
    As wit rule one.. if you wanna slap in a band dont listen to the singer shoutin.. dont use your thumb..

3.Play wit what you like.
    If your in a death metal band you dont have to go out and buy a B.C RICH to fit in cause your guitarist says its "YOU"

4.Plec finger thumb debate
    personally i dont use plecks as i find the tone to bright. but unlike some fellow finger players i wont knock a plec player.. IF IT WORKS... GO FOR IT

5.Dont Mumble.
    everyone in the band is equal you should have your say. dont stand by the drummer in a gig! GET OUT FRONT AND INTERACT! the crowd loves to see bass players

6.VOLUME
    Just because you have a 700watt 8X10 cab.. doesnt mean you have to turn it down[WITHIN REASON] dont just burble in the background....>GROWL WITH YA BASS MAN.. get the tone cut through the mix its all about bein noticed

7.Some guitarists are wankers!
    my one respects bass and puts it on par.. which i totally respect him for that.. but dont listen to them if they say "Dont slap" "turn it down" and my favourite "where are you goin to stand when we do the gig"

8.Bass lines?