Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Warwick Corvette jack problem

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Saetia, Jul 29, 2004.

1. Saetia

Saetia

Mar 27, 2003
    Wisconsin
    Alright, I have a 97' Warwick Corvette standard. The jack seems to be making crackling noises when I move around. I tried changing Chords and it does the same thing. I opened up the back pannel and all the connections are solid to all of the controls and the jack. I was told that maybe I should use a piece of sand paper and lightly sand the inside of the jack to get any dirt that may be in there out. In my time as a bassist I've never had this problem. Any info or help would be appreciated.

Peace
    -Ben

2. hyoshim

hyoshim Supporting Member

May 5, 2004
    Los Angeles
    I had the same problem with mine. Moster cable seemed to help but eventually I swapped out the jack (switchcraft).

3. Saetia

Saetia

Mar 27, 2003
    Wisconsin
    Where did you get the switch craft jack? and how much did it cost. After looking at the jack, I don't quite understand it, it's quite different then most jacks, most jacks when you take the control plate off you can see the opening on the inside but with mine you don't. Also the jack on the outside is smooth to the bass, I just don't see how I'd swap it out, maybe I need special tools, do I? With this bass I've noticed I need lots of special tools to work with this, like I said, any tips or ideas/ help will be greatly appreciated.

Peace
    -Ben

4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Some of the regulars in Setup should be able to answer your questions. I am moving this thread to that Forum.

5. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA