1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

warwick corvette refinish.

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by archer drums, Nov 6, 2013.

1. archer drums

archer drums

Nov 6, 2013
    so there is a corvette 5 BO at my local guitar center for very cheap. the body is dinged at little and has some scratches on it. im a drum builder and all of the drums i build have a stain and top coat on them so i know how to "finish" wood. but iv never done a RE-finish. is there anything i should know, tips, tricks. or just buy it and leave it alone. its a black natural finish with what seems to be a light top coat. i was planning on sanding it down most of the way to just get rid of the smaller dings and scratches and then re-finish it in black agin. any pointers?

2. acedabone

acedabone

Nov 11, 2010
    I do some painting on a different degree and the thoughts you have crossed my mind as well! Subscribed!

3. archer drums

archer drums

Nov 6, 2013
    haha

4. archer drums

archer drums

Nov 6, 2013
    so i picked up the corvette today. im having trouble figuring out how to post pictures up here but ill figure it out. does anyone have any pointers on stripping the top coat and sanding down the finish?

5. MPU

MPU

Sep 21, 2004
    Valkeala Finland
    I'd just sand the finish off carefully.

6. I refinished my 'vette. It was a trans red Ash body. I just sanded it by hand. The finish isn't that thick so it really wasn't too bad. I don't think you need any kind of chemical stripper or heat. (Note: Some of the Rockbass versions may have much thicker poly finishes, but my old German proline just had a little tint and a thin topcoat)

I finished if with Tru-Oil tinted with black linseed artist pigment. I'm sure if you have a little experience finishing that you won't find it too hard. Just sand, prep, and paint.