1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Warwick LWA500 vs TC Electronic BH800

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by AlexC, Oct 28, 2018.

1. AlexC

AlexC

Oct 28, 2018
    Okay guys so after reading the forums for years I created a login. My first post so go easy on me. I have been playing bass for over 30 years in rock bands. Until recently I was using a BG250 210 combo. I play in a 5 piece group. Singer, 2 guitars, drummer and myself. It was a great little combo but I was maxing it out constantly. Gain just under clip then volume to 3-4 o'clock. So I needed a bit more overall volume. I decided on 2 x 210 Hartke hydrive HD's. Wanted the vertical stack thing. I also picked up a Warwick LWA500 head. This is where I think I went wrong. The head is very underwhelming. It seems to clip early on the knob (12 o"clock), I then need the volume knob at almost max just to get to where I feel I was with the old combo. Tried an array of different basses (all passive). So I am going to get a new head with more room. I was thinking the BH800. So my question is how much more can I expect from the head? My local store will only bring one in if I order it for purchase. Youtube always has people playing low volume, and slapping 900 miles per hour. No useful to me. I am not looking for a bunch of brand suggestions just feedback on what to expect with the BH800 and 2x 210 stack? Thanks - fire away!

2. mmbongo

mmbongo Five Time World Champion Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas
    Are you positive both your Hartke cabinets are working? That setup should deliver quite a bit more output than what you had before....on paper, anyway. I don't have any first hand experience with those cabs.

3. AlexC

AlexC

Oct 28, 2018
    Yup both are working. Amp just seems to work really hard to keep up?

4. mmbongo

Aug 5, 2009
    Carolinas