Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Warwick Pro Line 5 String

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by zevo, Nov 27, 2004.

1. zevo

zevo

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    I am about to purchase a Warwick Pro Line 5 strings Bass. The bass is about year old and in very good / like new conditions. They wanted $ 650 for the Bass.

What do you guys think about the price and the bass?

I've been searching for a good used Bass for a while and hopefully this will be the one.

Thanks,
    zevo

2. Woodchuck

Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    I'd go for it!

3. zevo

zevo

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    What do you think of the bass itself?
    I am a newbie and have been playing only for over a year now.
    Thanks,
    zevo

4. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    My friend has a Proline 4 in blue. They're great basses. His has the wenge neck, and the thing sounds and plays like a dream. Prolines can be found at about the same or less than a regular corvette, yet IMO are a major step up from a regular vette. Go for it, you won't regret it.

5. hyoshim

hyoshim Supporting Member

May 5, 2004
    Los Angeles
    I'll say jump right in. I bought my used '98 Corvette (wenge neck) in good condition for $600 in 2003. When I wanted to upgrade electronics to go active (PUP/Preamp), the estimated cost was going to be like $300 (I did not go forward with the idea).

6. zevo

zevo

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    I just checked out a new one at MF. They go for about $1,600. I think a used one for $ 650 is a steal.
    Don't you think so? Or Warwicks depreciate quite a lot?

7. zevo

zevo

Nov 4, 2004
    Chicago, IL
    Any comments? Can anyone help?
    I am thinking of purchasing the bass tonigt.
    Thanks,
    zevo