Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Warwick Thumb BO specs over the years

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by barroso, Oct 17, 2002.

1. barroso

barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    Italia
    i am not a Warwick expert. and i know that there are a lot of W freaks out there.

here's the story. i found a Thumb bolt on 4 strings used on sale for 750 euros.

i have some questions.

1. how can i find the serial number and year of manufacturing on this model?

2. i know that older ones are more respected than newer. when the warwick company started to "cut corners"?

3. i know that they changed the woods. when?

4. the pickup placement and control are the same on every thumb produced? are like these:
    [​IMG]

5.are the MEC pickups the same size of Bartolini, EMG jazz style aftermarket pickups?

6. can you please enlight me on the controls? there are 2 pickups and the bass actually produced is advertised as equipped with 2 bands MEc active EQ. but i see 3 knobs only. how does this control layout works?

7. how much are these new? and used?

8. at the same shop there is a Thumb NT on sale for 1280 Euros, used. can this big difference tell me something about the difference of the 2 basses?

thanks warwick people!!

2. Ari

Ari

Dec 6, 2001
    1. On the back of the headstock, the S/N is usually ended by the year of manufacture.

2&3. Originally the Thumb Bolt-on had a bubinga body and a wenge neck and fingerboard. It also had the brass nut. I'm not sure about the year, but I think that in 1998 Warwick started to use ovangkol for the neck and the body. (still keeping the wenge fingerboard). I think this year they also introduced their new "graphite nut".

4. Yes. But on 5 and 6 string Thumbs, both pickups are angled and are closer to the bridge.

5. I'm not sure about this one.

6. It should be : Volume, pickup pan, and stacked bass+treble boost & cut, from up to down.