Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Was it the battery?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Rody1069, Sep 10, 2002.

1. Rody1069

Rody1069

Jul 14, 2002
    Philadelphia, PA
    I just picked up a "newish" Ernie Ball Music Man Stingray, it's been great, up until a gig last weekend, when in the 3rd set, my amp (a Hartke 4000) went into "protect" mode during a song. When I plugged my Rickenbacker in it was fine and I finished up the set. Since I'm new at this whole active pickup thing I'm wondering...would a dead battery cause my amp to go into protect mode, or is the bass (or amp) a peice of crapola? Any advice would be great.

-Shawn

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    Did you change the battery? Did it fix the problem?
    Doc

3. Rody1069

Rody1069

Jul 14, 2002
    Philadelphia, PA
    I haven't replaced the battery yet, but even if I do, I'm going to be VERY hesitant to actually play it at a packed gig again, even though it sounds great when it works. I've been looking for documentation, or personal experiences from other bass players to make sure that it is only the battery and not somthing else so I can feel more secure playing it on stage again.

Thanks for the reply,
    -Shawn

4. Philbiker

Philbiker Pat's the best!

Dec 28, 2000
    Northern Virginia, USA
    IMO you should always change the battery as a rule immediately upon purchasing any active bass guitar. Particularly a used one.

5. Rody1069

Rody1069

Jul 14, 2002
    Philadelphia, PA
    Initially, I replaced the battery with a fresh one. How long do they usually last?

-Shawn

6. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

In most active basses, the batteries should last at least two or three months. Most of mine last 6 or more months.