1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Was pino's sting ray active or passive?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Shae Wooten, Sep 25, 2016.

1. Shae Wooten

Shae Wooten

Aug 16, 2016
    sorry guys. I'm sure this has been beaten to death, but i'm new to talkbass. Im looking into purchasing a fretless and am interested in the specs of Pino's MM. Was it passive or active? Thanks guys!

Fab Superlative likes this.
  2. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    Unless he had it wired passive, it is active like all Stingrays except one budget model from ten years ago.

3. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    Umm...Stingrays are active.

4. wvbass

wvbass Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2004
    West Virginia
    And, I think, a GC limited run.

Tbone76 likes this.
  5. Dr. Cheese

Dr. Cheese Gold Supporting Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Metro St. Louis
    It was one of those budget American made basses with aluminum pickguard. I had the active five string version for a while.

wvbass likes this.
  6. dedpool1052

dedpool1052

Jan 10, 2011
    Seattle, WA
    There was the PDN Gilded white which had a push/pull volume for active passive.
    s%252F15979d1313417489-new-instrument-release-premier-dealer-network-pdn-gilded-white-bass-flyer.png

DWBass, madjazzbass, stacker and 5 others like this.
  7. Maybe think about picking up an octave pedal too. ;)
    The Mooer, Tender Octave- is a nice inexpensive mini sized one that can fit in the accessory compartment of most cases, or gig bags. And it sounds great!
    The octave pedal will accentuate the mwah to epic levels. :thumbsup: