Washburn vs. Fender

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by missmozart9, Jul 4, 2005.

1. missmozart9

Jul 4, 2005
    Hello all! My name's Brittany, I live in Singapore, and I'm a 15-year-old jazz bassist. I started playing bass roughly 6 months ago in the States when our old bassist was kicked out and I was recruited for keyboard bass. My dad surprised me with an electric bass and I learned how to play over the weekend. This bass was a lovely blue Washburn XB-120. It's been a wonderful bass to me. Despite the fact it's just a beginner bass, it's been able to replicate the sound of an upright bass beautifully for jazz band. It worked perfectly for everything, from Rhaspody in Blue to Duke Ellington to Earth Wind & Fire to Jaco's "The Chicken". I also enjoy playing classic rock, mainly Beatles and similar style, and this bass was able to give me almost all of what I needed.

My dad just found a sunburst Fender Standard Jazz bass for $400-something and told me to research it. I have, but I haven't been able to find a real comparison. Do you think that it's worth buying over my Washburn? Do you recommend a whole different bass altogether? I appreciate any help I can get. Thanks! :)
  2. Hey Brittany, welcome aboard.

I gotta tell you, that description you give of your Washburn makes me want to own it. My opinion? Why mess with a good thing.

But, having options is good too. :) It looks like your XB-120 and the Jazz are made out of the same materials, so the acoustic properties should be similar. I've never played a Washburn, so I can't really give you a comparison on tone.

Probably the only thing I can give you has a useful comparison is that the Fender will most likely have a bigger body, and a bit more weight on it. It's a comfort issue, but hey, we gotta be comfortable when we do our thing right? If you get a chance to sit down with the bass, give it a try, and see if it just feels right.