1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Washington DC area/Northern Virginia teacher?

Discussion in 'Double Bass Pedagogy [DB]' started by casualmadness, Dec 10, 2018.

1. casualmadness

casualmadness

Dec 15, 2005
    VA
    Hi all,
    I'm a longtime electric bass player but only recently decided that I want to learn to play the double bass. I live in northern Virginia and am looking for a local teacher. I want to learn jazz, bluegrass, classical, finger picking, bowing, sightreading, etc. I just want to be able to "play" this strange new instrument.
    I've done a search through the forums and couldn't find anything recent. I've also searched online and found a couple local teachers who's schedules do not cooperate with mine. So I thought I would check here. I'm a complete beginner on double bass.

Thanks for any recommendation.

2. Sam Dingle

Sam Dingle Supporting Member

Aug 16, 2011
    New Orleans
    Kris Funn is out there but I'm not sure if he's giving lessons.

3. ERIC A

ERIC A Supporting Member

4. casualmadness

casualmadness

Dec 15, 2005
    VA
    I've been talking to Glenn. I don't think his schedule is going to work with mine unfortunately.

Last edited: Dec 10, 2018
  5. Adam Booker

Adam Booker Supporting Member

May 3, 2007
    Boone, NC
    Endorsing Artist: D'Addario Strings, Remic Microphones
    Donovan Stokes and Inez Wyrick are top notch.

6. ERIC A

ERIC A Supporting Member

Victor Dvoskin
    Silver Spring
    301 938 2282

7. casualmadness

casualmadness

Dec 15, 2005
    VA
    Thanks for the suggestions so far. I've sent messages to everyone suggested and am awaiting replies. I hope I can find a teacher!

8. Aldwyn

Aldwyn Old Musician, New to UB! Supporting Member

Jan 5, 2019
    Columbia, Maryland
    Did you find anyone?