Washington DC, does it suck as much as I think it does?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by JP Bassman, Nov 1, 2002.

1. JP Bassman

JP Bassman

Jun 18, 2001
    Ok, so I go to school at George Washington, in the "heart" of DC. I've only been here 2 months - I'm only a freshman - but quite frankly, I must be doing something wrong because I'm so sick of this city. It's boring as hell. Yes, there are amazing jazz clubs - all of which I can't get into becasue I'm 18 or becasue they get sold out, or better yet because theyre in the ghetto. Now, I love the historic aspect of this city - I love the monuments, I love the museums, but -as I quickly found out- this city closes at like 10 on weeknights - its ridiculous! and on weekends it gets moved back to like 12. This boggles my mind that the only thing open past midnight in this "major" city is gay clubs. I have nothing against gay clubs, or any clubs actually, its just that theres no way I'm going to a club being as I'm a pasty uncoordinated white boy who hates to dance - hehe. So please, can someone from the area help me out -PLEASE!!!?!?!?!?! Yes, I know about the 930 club, and Wednesday night I saw Andrew WK and Flogging Molly at Nation - Flogging Molly rocked my world btw :)

But seriously now, is there anything to do besides club or go to museums? I'm sick of hanging around my dorm all night because my only options are clubbing or walking around georgetown watching rich couples stumble around drunk. Maybe I'm just overreacting, but after "Halloween Mardi Gras" last night in Georgetown I'm ready to just up and leave this city. What a joke that was.

So, please, I don't want to sound whiny, but, well, I'm desperate here. I want to have a good time, I want to have somewhere to just hang out - the lack of diners is amazing to me, and by amazing I mean it makes me cry. (not really, but you get the point)