Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Washtub bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by joemamma, Sep 10, 2004.

1. joemamma

joemamma

Jul 18, 2002
    Hey all,
    This is a bass I put together for under $100.00. The neck is oak I had around and the finger board is hard maple ($8.00). The sound board is 1/4" birch ply form Home depot ($12.00) The tuners and tub were about $30.00 ea. The strings I got from a music store for $10.00. The owner said he never puts factory strings on the basses he "sets up" but keeps them for guys like me. The pickup is a Radio Shack "buzzer" wired to a 1/4" audio jack (less than $5.00) The whole idea was from web site Dennis Havlenas . I'm just learning URB and don't have a bunch of money for a good bass yet, but wanted to build this for the bluegrass band I get together with. I was able to hear it played by a good bass player and I was very pleased with the sound and volume. This was a fun project to do plus the pig dances when you play.

Joe

Attached Files:

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
  3. Gufenov

Gufenov

Jun 8, 2003
    It would fit in well with a banjo I saw at a festival. The owner had crafted it from a bedpan.

4. Alright joe!! I think it's pretty cool lookin'. Kinda like a poor mans Czech-Ease (David Gage's travel bass)

5. I'm very impressed with the result, visually. You made a real nice scroll, too. Have you considered building your own full featured DB with a body other than a tub? Can you make us a .wav file? With Windows, all it takes is a microphone and the sound recorder program which is resident in windows. I'd love to hear it. I've seen a few of these that I think are excellent substitutes for student DB's. Yours is quite impressive. Probably holds up well in varible weather, too! :D

6. seamonkey

seamonkey

Aug 6, 2004
    Very nice!