1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Wasted 35 years

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bobicidal, Nov 3, 2013.

1. bobicidal

bobicidal

Mar 28, 2013
    San Jose, CA
    About 35 years ago I started playing bass, played Kiss, Led Zep, then Rush, then 10 years later made some money and then the 15 minutes of fame in 1988, then within a couple years quit playing, had a family to raise and stopped playing in bands, gave up, thinking I just was noy good enough. Only now I see my problem was I never had structured lesson, particularly learning theory, etc. I played covers, and wrote copycat songs. Still today it is all I can do because I almost never took lessons, and when I did it was asking the instructor to write tab for my rock heroes. Today I wonder what might have been if I had studied the jazz method 35 years ago. Sigh.

Kids who read this.

2. bobicidal

bobicidal

Mar 28, 2013
    San Jose, CA
    (Oops sent too soon, and no edit function in app?)

... Kids, young and old, who read this, forget "studying rock", learn the jazz method.

Peace

3. You didn't get laid for 35 YEARS????

You see my point. You didn't "waste" those 35 years. You pursued what mattered to you.

4. Go back and watch "It's a Wonderful Life" again. There's a time and place for everything. :)

5. He didn't completely chump it then !

PS - love the Zappa records ref...

6. frankieC

frankieC A swell guy from Warren Harding High

Jul 21, 2012
    Bob, I did take lessons, started on cello, and I actually put the bass down (almost entirely) for about 30 years, myself. Did some fill ins for friends, and a couple of plays at community theater. I stopped playing because both my wife, and I were working, and for the purpose of raising a family and pursuing a career. I often worked nights so my wife could work days... you know the drill.