Water Rates?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Brandt Scanlan, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Alright, I will admit that I'm new to the whole utilities thing, but I have to get started sometime, right? My landlord claims that the water bill (which is going to her, not us tenants) is around $30 per person per month. With seven of us, that's $210 dollars per month, which means we will be paying over $2500 for water this year!

Once again, I might be totally wrong about this, but I thought that an average annual water cost for a family of four was around $500-600. It would seem to me that either our landlord is confused, or utility rates here in Seattle are out of control.

Could anyone let me know if this figure seems right? Thanks for your help!
  2. Hi,
    I work for a water utility in Australia, your utility will be able to tell you how much they charge for a kilolitre (I guess in the states it will be some multiple of gallon) and also average consumption per household. You can also check your consumption at the water meter.

You should also check with your landlord what you are paying for. Where I work, the bill comes in "rates" which is the fee for being connected to the supply and "consumption" which is the actual usage of water through the meter. Here, landlords are responsible for the rates and tenants are responsible for the consumption unless a different agreement is reached between tenant and landlord.
  3. Trevorus

Oct 18, 2002
    Urbana, IL
    2 people in my house. I use about 30 dollars every 2 months.
  4. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    4 person house, about $65 a month.
  5. Basschair

Basschair .............. Staff Member Supporting Member

Feb 5, 2004
    Stockton, Ca