1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Wattage of 2 cabs

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by PhilBoBaggins, Mar 19, 2013.

1. PhilBoBaggins

PhilBoBaggins

Mar 12, 2013
    Hey everyone! I have a quick question about cabs.

I just purchased an Aguilar tone hammer 500, which sounds amazing but has 500 Watts of power.

The cab I bought with it is a Acoustic B410, which for somereason is terribly mislabeled as having more than 500 watts at guitar center, so when i purchased it I thought it would be fine. So, i have to make a decision of returning the b410 and getting a new cab because it only has 400. =(

However, I'm really new to this stuff and I was wondering if I got an acoustic b115, which has 250 watts, in combination with the 400 from the 410, would that be a safe alternative to buying a new cab with a higher wattage alone? I was just thinking it would be awesome to have the 115 in combination wkth the 410 to bring out that low B on my six string lol. If you guys have an alternative, or a better cab thats in the same price range, please tell me!!

Thanks!

2. Not taking the bait.
    I will say if the 410 cab is 8 ohm you don't have to worry as the amp will not output 500 watts with an 8 ohm cab. More than likely around 350 watts.

If your bargain Acoustic 410 will not handle "the low B". You need to dump it for a better cab.

3. PhilBoBaggins

PhilBoBaggins

Mar 12, 2013
    What about when I have to turn it way up for gigs? wouldnt it damage the cab?

4. PhilBoBaggins

PhilBoBaggins

Mar 12, 2013
    I also chose the 500 over the 350 so that it would be more powerful, so would not getting the second cab be a waste of power?