1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

watts vs speakers

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by kingnothing52, Sep 27, 2013.

1. ok guys I am new to the bass thing and im trying to figure out exactly what to do about getting my amp set up. i have been playing guitar for 14 years and have a pretty decent set up there (crate blue voodoo 120 watt all tube).

i have been doing alot of reading on here where people say you need about 3x to 5x the amount of wattage to push a good bass sound. which would put me some where between a 300 and 600 watt amp.

now heres the kicker. will a 300 watt amp with a 2x10 speaker cab work for a small gig/band practice or do i need a
    4x10, or will a bigger head compensate if i was to stick with a 210 cab.

the gear im currently looking at is the hartke lh500 or the ampeg pf350 with the peavey headliner 2x10 or 4x10.

i know that was long winded thanks in advance for your post/comments back

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Welcome to TalkBass! At the top of the amps section, you'll find a "sticky" thread or two with more information than you can digest about amps, speakers, and how they all work together.

That being said, with the information given I will simply advise this. Always opt for the larger cab if you play live with any louder volume ranges. With the choices given, I would go for the Ampeg and the 4-10. Get an 8ohm 4-10 so that if your needs ever change you can add another just like it and not drop below common amp ohm ratings.

Don't worry about the whole "underpowering speakers" thing. I power an 800W 4-10 with an Ampeg V4 (100W) all the time and it KILLS! Read up in those sticky threads for TONS of info on that.

3. Watts are not a unit of volume of sound.