Waving the White Flag: Wiring Help Needed

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by <MrVentures>, Jul 16, 2021.

1. I have an inexpensive active bass that I use during the summers, and I decided to create a learning project for myself: shield everything with copper tape and replace the preamp with a Delano Sonar 3 MS. Important note: I have never done this before and am completely new to wiring, soldering, etc.

When I got to the “end”, everything seemed to be working and I was getting a consistent bass-sound out of the jack. However, I realized that there was no sweep to the volume pot: either it was on (around 9) or off (every value below 9). It’s a push/pull pot as well, and there is no sound coming out when in passive (pull) mode. Every other pot works, including the balance. The balance pot was the only other pot not pre-wired, so I had to so some soldering on that too.

I did my best to read up on this and avoid reaching out, and the symptoms seemed to be those of a bad volume pot, potentially due to overheating during soldering. So I ordered a replacement, was very careful with my soldering, and now I have the same issue. It makes me think the issue is somewhere else, but I have no idea where to look.

I’ve attached some photos, but I found it rather difficult to get a clean shot of everything since it’s all crammed in and tiny. Apologies for the wiring mess!

Any thoughts on what could be causing the issue? Any further information or photos I can provide?

Thanks in advance.

p.s. Here is the wiring diagram I am following.

3F12D229-BACB-4A43-9A8C-E1FE4C5289C7.jpeg 15385CBB-C1FE-4C6C-B5D0-CF4A778CAA76.jpeg F9C84D5C-ED94-42C6-A72C-C3431ADA73A8.jpeg 38925FF3-29C0-4696-AC90-1E5487CC8DC5.jpeg 02B56087-F8E1-4D4B-8A9F-F55B77686D36.jpeg

2. adamrobertt

adamrobertt Supporting Member

Dec 14, 2007