"We need melodies"

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by PinkFloydDan, Aug 21, 2005.

1. The guitar player in the band is on his soap box again with the "We need more melodies to our music."

He says it is the bass player's responsibility to come up with melodies...I just kept quiet.

Is a bass player's responsibility in a 4 piece band (bass, guitar, keys, drums) to create the melodies?

I listen to the music and it sounds like I am the one who is melodic, but I Am no expert. I Am not even sure how to exactly make a melody.

Anyone care to figure this out? Is this guy right or just full of himself?
  2. From the sound of it, it sounds like he's decided he doesn't want the responsibility for writing his own parts.
  3. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I thought it was everyone's responsibility.
  4. Tash

Feb 13, 2005
    Bel Air Maryland
    Its the responsibility of whoever is writing the songs to write them however he or she wants. If your guitar player doesn't like what he's playing tell him to write better material.
  5. Sounds like the guy is an idiot. How is just the bass player responsible? Last I checked the bass guitar is primarily a rhythm instrument. Sure, it can be melodic, but melodies from a guitar or keyboard are generally going to be a lot more noticable, I would think.
  6. You tell me. I thought my role was to keep the rhythm going, on time, listening to the drummer for whatever makes me want to do something different.

I am starting to think my guitar player wants it as easy as possible for him; to hell with what real talent may come out from actually learning something I create.