1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Web of hand is sore with pick

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by baddarryl, May 18, 2018.

Tags:
  1. baddarryl

baddarryl Supporting Member

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!
    Hi all I have begun playing again after many years off. I have been playing for probably six months now. I play mostly finger style, but there are some songs that I choose a pick for. Mostly eighth and 16th note rock ‘n’ roll. I have noticed that the web between my thumb and forefinger get quite sore when using a pic. I’m going to try some different textured pics to see if maybe I’m just grabbing it too hard or am I picking too hard? I don’t know. Hell it could just be from texting thumb and using a pic aggravates it. I don’t know.

2. I don’t understand this at all. Is the pick touching this web while you play?

3. Basshappi

Basshappi

Feb 12, 2007
    Tucson,AZ
    Yes, you are most likely gripping the pick too hard and/or hitting the strings too hard.
    Try lightening up and try different gauge picks including some lighter and heavier ones than what you are using now.

Luciferiad and Lobster11 like this.
  4. baddarryl

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!
    No. My first finger is extended so I don’t play with a close or clenched hand. It is the muscles that get sore and not a rub or something.

5. baddarryl

Oct 26, 2008
    Cape Fear!
    I just picked up some pics that have a sandpaper type of texture on them that feel really good. I do have a hard time with my pic rotating and therefore I try to keep it straight. I think you’re onto something

6. I gotta agree. There should be no cramping. Economy and efficiency of all movements. Consciously think of relaxing as you play.

7. Lobster11

Lobster11 Supporting Member Supporting Member

Apr 22, 2006
    Williamsburg, VA