Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Weight of a Steinberger XL-2 bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kubla Khan, Jan 29, 2001.

1. Kubla Khan

Kubla Khan

Jan 29, 2001
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie here, been a lurker for awhile but thought I'd sign in. Always enjoy reading the posts on our favorite instrument.

Question: Does anyone know how much a Steinberger XL-2 weighs? I'm looking for a light weight instrument, but not sure if the composite makes it an even heavier instrument, even more than my Rickenbacker?

Any input would be mostly appreciated.

Thank you,
    Kubla Khan

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    Hello, Kubla. Welcome to TalkBass.

I have an XL-2 and highly recommend it. However, I wouldn't say it's the lightest bass I ever played (That distinction belongs to a Warwick Dolphin Pro II). My XL-2 weighs between eight and ten pounds, making it heavier than my Fender, although less cumbersome to transport.

The MusicYo Steinbergers are lighter, of course, but not hte real thing. Composite Steinbergers are currently discontinued and few and far between, but maybe you can find one somewhere you could try. Good luck.

Will C.:cool:

3. Kubla Khan

Kubla Khan

Jan 29, 2001
    Hey Thank you Big Wheel,

Yes, this is an old composite model. I recently injured my back and am looking for something with good balance and hopefully somewhat <i>lighter</i> than my Rick and second to the Dolphin, Alembic Mark King!

If the balance is good, that might make up for the 9 - 10 pounds, which is probably what the Ricky wieghs.

Thank you again.
    Kubla Khan

4. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    Hey, KK.