1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Weird Audition

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Foamy, Jan 7, 2012.

1. Foamy

Foamy

Jun 26, 2006
    Sac Area
    I'll try to keep it short.
    I answered a CL ad for a bassist for a Country band. I'm really a guitarist, but I've been playing bass for so long now...

I get their set list, and I pick a few songs that I played in my previous bands. I picked some of the more difficult songs too.

I get to the keyboard player's house - I'd been exchanging e-mail with the guitarist, the guy who runs the band - and we wait a bit.

The guy doesn't show up, but the drummer is there along with the keyboardist, a fiddler, and an acoustic guitar player.

We start to do some of the songs, and they all go well.

The main guy shows up about 40 minutes late.

He asks me if I'm the guy who played before with "Betty".

Umm.....I don't know Betty, and politely say so.

Then we go over a couple real easy tunes. Stuff I can do in my sleep! Hicktown and Folsom Prison Blues.

Are you kidding me? THAT's the audition?

Then the guy basically tells me that he only wanted to keep me about an hour, and that they needed to work on new songs. I'd been there (being on time and all) for about an hour.

Eh, whatever. Body language was weird in that while I was packing up, he was basically going through his guitar case and doing who-knows-what.

So either I was so good that I knocked their socks off and left him speechless, or the guy had something else in mind.

Oh well, I've got thick skin and who knows? The feedback I got was all positive from the ALL the guys except the main guy (who basically said nothing).

Just weird, and I'm glad I can get it off my chest.

Cheers!!

2. bluewine

bluewine Banned

Sep 4, 2008
    WI
    "All auditions are weird"

blue