Weird experience while testing bows

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by MrSidecar, Nov 21, 2017.

1. I am currently trying out bows to replace my Dürrschmidt bow I’ve had ever since I started playing. I’ve been there once before but never got around to actually buying a new one.

Since I was totally amazed by them last I tried, I am having 4 different Prochownik bows at the moment (ranging from 116 to 130 grams) in trial at the moment. This has so far been kind of a trip, to be honest.

It started with me being quite happy for all of them, albeit not as blown away as last time I tried Prochowniks. I will try other bows in other price ranges as well, since I am looking for “the last bow I am buying”. I am also learning that Prochownik has more or less stopped making bows and is retired, so these four are “as good as it gets”.

Anyway. Gradually, I grew more and more disappointed by the four sticks, since they somehow began to play quite difficult and screechy, with all too many unmanageable overtones and a rather unpleasant brittleness to them. I used Nymans rosin since that was what I have been using literally all my bass playing life.

But, being massively turned off by the bows, and figuring the one unknown factor was the rosin, I called Prochownik’s European contact in Cologne. She told me that when I got the bows, they had Pop’s on.

So I bought a cake of Pop’s. Lo and Behold, they are back to their standard again, playing much easier without screeching or overtone madness, drawing a beautiful huge tone. What?! Can this make such a difference?? I am very sure I haven’t used too much Nyman’s.

Does anybody in the crowd here have any idea what that was? Am I delusional? Do the two rosins behave badly together? How am I supposed to find out?

Best
    sidecar

2. Don Kasper

Don Kasper Gold Supporting Member