weirdest gig ive ever had

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by bassmonkey144, Mar 6, 2005.

1. so im a highschool sophomore. in the list of bassists well known/good in the school, im around #3. nothing spectacular, even thought my highschool is huge (around 3000 people)

back to my story. my highschool is well known for our performing arts department. choir, band, orchestra, jazz bands (which im proudly a member of one) and numerous other things. anyway. we have 2 very good show choirs, one mixed and one all girls. so as you can imagine, they have a show choir band. now i wasnt asked to do it this, the #2 bassist was, but that was fine with me. i was in season for soccer at the time. so friday morning at school, the guitarist, lets call him rocky, frantically runs up to me and explains that the bassist, lets call him kevin, cannot play for the biggest show of the year, as he will be out of town. the performance is the following night, saturday. so i decided, sure, why not, how hard can it be to learn all the songs in a day. well apparently there were 15 full songs to learn. hooray. so i stay up late and practice. wake up, practice more. i get there, and our first performance is at around 5:00. we play to a packed auditorium of around 1000 people. which was awesome. then go and practice some more. play the finale with the mixed show choir at 11:00 at night. the auditorium was at about 2000 people then. (this auditorium is gigantic.) very fun.

so moral of my weird story: learning 10 hard songs in a day then jamming in front of 2000 people is very fun.
  2. Bard2dbone

Aug 4, 2002
    Arlington TX
    My name is Bard2dbone and I approve this message.
  3. Selta

Feb 6, 2002
    Pacific Northwet
    Total fanboi of: Fractal Audio, AudiKinesis Cabs, Dingwall basses