Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Well, my bass friends, today I took the plunge to the low side.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by The Lone Strang, Dec 30, 2005.

1. The Lone Strang

The Lone Strang

Jun 28, 2005
    After reading reviews for about three months, and playing around, I took the plunge and ordered an SX jazz bass, with the ashtrays, and a sunburst finish.

I am so jazzzed. I have been playing guitar for about 40 years, and messed around with a bass at church for a couple of years, but this is my first bass! I can hardly wait to get it and plug in?

Thanks all, for all the help, and for answering so many newbie, stupid, I-don't-crap, questions.

2. welcome to the fold my friend.

Be sure to report back. A few family members and friends have thought about getting into bass(after seeing and hearing my Warwick). I will probably buy them SX basses to learn from.

3. AxtoOx

AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.
    Welcome,
    I played guitar for over 25 years before I picked up the bass, and I've been obsessed ever since.
    I still won't sell my guitars though and I still pick them up now and again.
    I would suggest you take some lesson and at least get your technique down.

4. purfektstranger

purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003
    Canada
    You've arrived. Now sit back and enjoy the view! :)

5. Pearly Gator

Pearly Gator

Dec 10, 2005
    SoCal
    Deja Vu! That sounds like my M.O.

I'm a lead guitarist @ church and there's a slim chance I'll get to play my bass because I'm the only one who can read charts. :meh: I've played bass off and on over the past 42 years and am getting back into it.